Home > Subjects and Departments > Academics > Clinical Medicine > Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Main content starts here.

Updated : August 1, 2023

Department of Orthopaedic Surgery


Yasuhito Tanaka
Shohei Omokawa
Kanya Honoki
Akira Taniguchi
Munehiro Ogawa
Kenji Kawamura
Hideki Shigematsu
Hiromasa Fujii
Yasuaki Nakanishi
Yoshinobu Uchihara
Takamasa Shimizu
Ryota Hara
Kazuya Inoue
Hiroaki Kurokawa
Shinji Tsukamoto
Sachiko Kawasaki


The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery was established by the late Dr. Yutaka Onji in 1954. Professor emeritus Susumu Tamai developed through the world first replantation of the thumb in 1965 and the Japan’s first development of total ankle arthroplasty by professor emeritus Yoshinori Takakura in 1975.

Since the appointment of Dr. Yasuhito Tanaka in 2009, we have established the Susumu Tamai Memorial Limb Trauma Center, the Center for Rheumatic Diseases, and the Rehabilitation Center, and started endowed courses in artificial joints and regenerative medicine, sports medicine, hand surgery, and orthopaedic oncology and reconstructive medicine.

Our department consists of a clinical group focused on foot and ankle, hand and microsurgery, shoulder joint, hip joint, knee joint, spine, bone and soft tissue tumors, pediatric orthopedics, and trauma, in addition to a cross-sectional research group focused on regenerative medicine for bone and cartilage, sports medicine, and rheumatology. We collaborate within and across the institution to make progress in our studies. We are known globally for our research, including the development of our original method of laminoplasty (Nara method) and the first application of mesenchymal stem cells for the prosthesis for artificial joint implants. Under the slogan of “Liberty and Equality”, all constituent members in our department strongly advance research activities night and day with higher motivation.


Our website is here